Prep Wrestling: Roseburg pins down 70-5 win at Grants Pass

January 25, 2018 GMT

GRANTS PASS — The second-ranked Roseburg High wrestling team posted 10 falls in 13 contested matches and ended the regular season Wednesday night with a 70-5 Southwest Conference dual victory over Grants Pass at Heater-Newman Gym.

The Indians, coming off a fourth-place finish at the Reser’s Tournament of Champions last weekend in Hillsboro, completed an unbeaten conference dual season.

Roseburg got pins from Kaden Schlatter at 113 pounds, Kahleb Diaz at 120, Hunter Sparks at 126, Tristin David at 132, Colin Rietmann at 145, Austin David at 152, Logan Folsom at 160, Garrett Russell at 170, Doran Gillespie at 182 and Brandon Jeffers at 195.

Jeffers recorded the fastest fall of the evening, sticking Peter Osipovich in 29 seconds. Schlatter and Diaz are freshmen.

Cameron Cross (106) scored a major decision and Terrell Jacks (220) won by forfeit for the Tribe.

“We were pretty aggressive ... it’s the right time of the year to be aggressive and sharp,” said RHS coach Steve Lander. “We had 10 pins, and eight of them came in the first round, and it was good we got bonus points. We wrestled hard and I feel good about it.”


In the latest 6A state rankings compiled by Oregon Wrestling Forum, Sparks is No. 1 at 120 and Jeffers is No. 1 at 182. Russell is No. 2 at 160, Tristin David No. 3 at 132 and Jacks No. 4 at 195.

Roseburg will get ready for the Special District 6 Championships, which will be held Feb. 2-3 at North Medford High School.

Roseburg 70, Grants Pass 5

106 — Cameron Cross, R, maj. dec. Houston Miner, GP, 10-2. 113 — Kaden Schlatter, R, p. Josef Miner, GP, 1:43. 120 — Kahleb Diaz, R, p. Carlos Estupinian-Blanco, GP, 3:14. 126 — Hunter Sparks, R, p. Ethan Diatte, GP, :51. 132 — Tristin David, R, p. Kolby Batista, GP, 1:37. 138 — Vincent Washington, GP, dec. Devin Folk, R, 9-3. 145 — Colin Rietmann, R, p. Orion Martin, GP, 3:00. 152 — Austin David, R, p. Liam Bonde, GP, 1:00. 160 — Logan Folsom, R, p. J.J. Watts, GP, 1:07. 170 — Garrett Russell, R, p. Hayden Lackey, GP, 1:02. 182 — Doran Gillespie, R, p. David Ruiz, GP, 1:09. 195 — Brandon Jeffers, R, p. Peter Osipovich, GP, :29. 220 — Terrell Jacks, R, won by forfeit. 285 — Sjoren Geiger, GP, dec. Mason Labahn, R, 2-1.

JV Score — Roseburg 65, Grants Pass 16.