Nebraska Open

September 16, 2018 GMT

The 2018 Wells Fargo Nebraska Open got underway Friday and will continue through Sunday at Elks Country Club.

This year’s field features three past champions along with many other professional and amateur golfers from across the country. The group of 144 total golfers one of the strongest fields in recent history of this tournament.

The Wells Fargo Nebraska Open has been a stepping stone in the professional career of 2010 and 2011 champion Peter Malnati, who recently earned his PGA TOUR card for the 2018-2019 season, and 2014 champion Chris Thompson, who finished 20th on the regular season money list for the Tour and earned his PGA TOUR card for 2018-2019.

Past champions in the field include Jim White, PGA (2005), Justin Herron (2006), and defending champion, Neil Johnson.

This year the field is elevated by past winners on the TOUR with Scott Gutschewski and Steven Friesen.


Notable Nebraskan’s in the professional field include Brandon Crick, Kevin Stanek, Shane Zywiec, PGA, Ryan Vermeer, PGA, Jon Petersen, PGA and arguably one of the best amateur golfers in Nebraska history in Luke Kluver of Norfolk.

The Wells Fargo Nebraska Open is endorsed and operated by the Nebraska Section of the PGA and coordinated by Nebraska Public Power District. Its proceeds are donated to the Nebraska Community College Foundation, which awards scholarships to hundreds of needy Nebraska students attending five community colleges in the state.

These colleges include Central Community College, Columbus, Hastings & Grand Island; Southeast Community College; Lincoln, Milford & Beatrice; Northeast Community College, Norfolk; Mid-Plains Community College, North Platte & McCook; and Western Nebraska Community College, Sidney & Scottsbluff.